Go for it, Gigi!

For all of my life, people have had trouble spelling and pronouncing my name.  Down here in the South is not really different, just more humorous as people, bless their hearts, try so hard to do it right.  I have respect for people who know their own limits and want to find something that works for them.  One of my water aerobics instructors, Peggy, is like that.  She’s been struggling with my name for a few weeks now and finally asked me if she could call me Gigi.  I said, sure. why not?  She does it with the Zsa Zsa sound and everything, so I’m good.  It makes me smile.  Plus, it’s helped me make more friends because everytime she does it, she explains why she’s doing it, so more people are learning my name and talking to me.  Bonus.

One of those new friends is a consultant for the Body by Vi – 90 day challenge program.  She gave me the whole spiel and a welcome sample packet.  I have yet to try them because I’m afraid I’ll like it.  And I don’t want to pay for protein shakes to lose weight.  I want to learn how to eat normally and get my nutrients that way.  Now I just have to tell her that.

My mother-in-law Maureen keeps telling me to BLOOM and I’m working on it.  Everyday.  For 5-6 times a week, I work out for an hour to an hour and a half.  I’ve joined a church and a choir, and met up with some members of the choir for “unrehearsal dinner.”  I hit a poly meet up and have made a friend through that.  She and I have been texting and emailing for the past two weeks and it’s awesome.  This week, I’ve lost a total of 3.3 lbs!  Even with my period and all the hormonal eating that came with it.  I think my metabolism is finally amped up and ready to go, which is awesome.

I’ve decreased my medication by half, and am trying to see how that will go.  The first week it was fine, but this week, I’ve noticed I’m finally getting angry.  However, it’s not just over the divorce or anything associated with that.  It’s little shit like slow drivers or when my great niece gets that look in her eyes and I just know she’s going to consciously disobey me.  Thankfully, I know what’s going on and have not done anything rash or stupid.  However, looking at it, I think my medication not only kept the anger in check…it made it go away.  And I’m really not comfortable with that.  I need to learn how to deal with it constructively.  So a half dose is my first step towards learning how to better deal with anger.

Tomorrow is the first rehearsal and performance with the “awesome little choir.”  I’m so excited!  It should be a good time.

2 responses to “Go for it, Gigi!

Leave a Reply

