6 Steps, part 1

In the article from the Buried Life guys that has stayed with me, Tim Ferriss writes about the “6 Steps to Crossing Anything Off Your Bucket List.”

They are:

  1. Stop and think about it.  Really think about it.
  2. Write it down.
  3. Talk about it.
  4. Be persistent.
  5. Be ballsy.
  6. Help others.

Right now, I’m in the thinking and writing phases.  The very beginning.

What do I want to do?  Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve wanted to be a singer.  Later, I added actress, writer, and mother to that list.

Motherhood is fairly straight forward, but what kind of singer would I want to be?  Coffee houses?  Touring arenas? The same goes with actress and writer.  Broadway, community theater, something else entirely? Bestseller, blogger, copywriter?  All of these things are possible, but now is the time to Really Think About It.

Now that I come to think about it, is motherhood all that straight forward?  Would I just be happy putting down “become a mother”?  My preference is to give birth to my own child.  However, if that doesn’t work out, I would be open to adoption.  So then, yes, “become a mother” is definitely on the list.  With singing (and acting, and writing), though, I think it’s better to have different goals.  Things like relearn to play the guitar.  Record a CD of my own songs.  Get an agent. Publish at least one best selling book.  (Hey, if the Buried Life guys can put it on their list, why the hell can’t I put it on mine.

Sing with Crystal Bowersox is a definite.  And Jennifer Nettles.

Travel to Europe, more specifically Ireland, England, and France.

Buy my own new car (bonus: drive it off the lot).

Although I’m wary, I do hope to find a wonderful person, fall in love again, and remarry.

Buying a house has been on the list for a while. Renovating it to my liking is also on there.  Demo looks like such fun!

Dance with a partner, especially ballroom/Latin dance.  Rhumba, quickstep, waltz, and jive are my favorite.

Learn to knit and/or crochet.

Get to a healthy weight and lifestyle of eating and activity.

This may seem absolutely ridiculous, given the fact that I’m overweight and 35, but I’ve always wanted to learn ballet en pointe.  It would take a lot of dedication and work.  I don’t know if I can dedicate myself to that, but right now is the thinking and dreaming stage.  I don’t need to jete, all I want is to be able to go up en pointe.

I’ve always wanted to be able to do a split.

Go to California.

Make love outside during a thunderstorm.

Swim in an infinity pool.

Become a voice over artist.

Have more than the recommended amount of savings in the bank.

Invest wisely in the stock market.

Ride a mechanical bull.

Totally stealing these from the Buried Life list:

Get a song I’ve written on the radio.

Win at bingo and yell “Bingo!”

Write an article for a major publication.

Take someone on a shopping spree.

Make a music video.

Act alongside (and dance with) Darren Criss and Ellen Degeneres. (Dancing with Ellen was on their list; I added acting and Darren Criss)

Go four wheeling.

Hang-gliding?

Jet skiing.

Snow mobiling.

Downhill skiing.

Ride a horse.

Pay off my mortgage.

Help someone build a house.

Go to the Olympics. As a spectator.

Oh, yeah…go to City Museum.

That was on my list for close to five years.  I totally achieved it a few months ago.

Karaoke. Did that just this week.

Rock on.

I’m gonna sleep on this now and see what else I can come up with.  By the end of June, I will have my list of 100 things.

Leave a Reply

